There are currently no alerts.

Board of Commissioners

Halifax Water Board Members, Annual General Meeting Minutes & Board Reports

The Halifax Water Board of Commissioners includes four members of Halifax Regional Council appointed by Council, three residents of Halifax municipality who are appointed by Council and the Chief Administrative Officer of Halifax municipality or a Halifax municipal employee appointed by the CAO.

The Board meets once every quarter, usually the last Thursday of that month.

Ray Ritcey, BComm, MBA, CPA/CGA, Chair

Ray Ritcey was appointed to the Halifax Water Board on September 23, 2014.

For 10 years, Mr. Ritcey led the development and build-out of natural gas distribution in Nova Scotia and was the founding President of Heritage Gas Limited. He has held executive positions in both the natural gas and electric industries working with such entities as TransCanada Pipelines, Ontario Hydro, Enbridge and AltaGas. He is Co-Chair of QUEST NS, and is on the Advisory Boards of EastPoint Engineering and Royer Thompson. Mr. Ritcey has a BComm and MBA from Saint Mary's University and is a Chartered Professional Accountant/Certified General Accountant.

Mr. Ritcey is one of three residents appointed to the Board by Regional Council.

Russell Walker, Vice Chair

Mr. Walker was appointed to the Halifax Water Board effective December 1, 2010, and elected Vice Chair on March 31, 2011.

Mr. Walker has been a resident of District 10 for 48 years. He was first elected to Halifax City Council in a by-election in January, 1994, and was subsequently elected to Halifax Regional Municipality Council in December, 1995. Mr. Walker was re-elected in October 2012 to represent District 10, Halifax - Bedford Basin West.

Jacques Dubé, Halifax Municipality CAO

Mr. Dubé became Halifax’s Chief Administrative Officer in September 2016.

Jacques has more than 30 years of senior-level experience from all levels of government, most recently as city manager in Moncton where his strong background in customer service and economic development helped that city prosper. He has served as president of Service New Brunswick, as well as Deputy Minister responsible for economic development, trade policy and population growth. He also served as Chief of Staff to the Federal Minister for Veterans Affairs and on numerous boards including the United Way, New Brunswick Innovation Foundation and Atlantic Lottery Corporation.

Craig MacMullin

Mr. MacMullin was appointed to the Halifax Water Board on June 20, 2017 and is one of three residents of Halifax Municipality appointed to the Board by Regional Council.

Mr. MacMullin has held a variety of senior executive positions within the private and non-profit sectors. He currently serves as the President and CEO of the Centre for Entrepreneurship Education and Development. His private sector experience includes senior positions in infrastructure commissioning, technology development and environmental industries. Mr. MacMullin has a BSc (Chemistry) from Acadia University, an MBA from Saint Mary's University and is a Chartered Professional Accountant/Certified General Accountant and a Certified Information Privacy Professional.

Darlene Fenton

Ms. Fenton was appointed to the Halifax Water Board on August 4, 2015, and is one of three residents of Halifax Municipality appointed to the Board by Regional Council.

Ms. Fenton has over 30 years’ experience in the environmental field, having held executive positions with the Compliance and Science Divisions of Nova Scotia Environment.

Councillor Lisa Blackburn

Councillor Blackburn was appointed to the Halifax Water Board on December 13, 2016.

Ms. Lisa Blackburn grew up in HRM, graduating from The University of King’s College in 1990. For the last 30 years she has been a journalist working in radio, television and print. She was elected to Halifax Regional Council in October 2016 to serve the district Upper Sackville-Middle Sackville-Beaver Bank and Lucasville.

Councillor Steve Streatch

Councillor Streatch was appointed to the Halifax Water Board on December 13, 2016.

Mr. Streatch currently represents District 1 – Waverley, Fall River and Musquodoboit Valley. He holds over thirteen years of experience in elected office. Mr. Streatch is a former member of the Halifax Police Commission and The Greater Halifax Partnership and has an extensive business background that extends throughout Atlantic Canada. In addition to his appointment to the Halifax Water Board, Mr. Streatch is a member of the following HRM boards and committees: Appeals Standing Committee, Environment and Sustainability Standing Committee and Grants Committee.

Councillor Lorelei Nicoll

Councillor Nicoll was appointed to the Halifax Water Board on April 11, 2017. Ms. Nicoll was elected to Regional Council in 2008 and re-elected by acclamation in the 2016 election.

In addition to her role as Commissioner on the Halifax Water Board, she currently serves as Vice-Chair of the Audit and Finance Standing Committee, Vice-Chair of the Transportation Standing Committee and is a member of the Executive Standing Committee. She serves on the Board of the Halifax Partnership and is the HRM representative on the Canadian Urban Transportation Association. Ms. Nicoll is also a member of the Cole Harbour Rural Heritage Society, Cole Harbour Harvest Festival Society, Cole Harbour Parks and Trails Association, as well as serving on the Board of Directors at Cole Harbour Place.

Annual General Meeting
Board Reports

Please note: All reports will open a PDF document.

2019 Reports

  • No Reports for 2019 yet

Older Reports